Stop Trying

How many times have you said, “I’ll try to ______” – you fill in the blank – lose weight, eat healthier, finish a project, clean the house, read a new book, workout more, etc. (if you can’t think of any, just rewind back to all those New Years Resolutions… how are you doing on those?)

If you are honest, you’ve probably started quite a few sentences with I’ll try.  That’s me. I like to think if I say I’ll try to do something, it makes me a go-getter, a hard worker, someone who is driven, willing to attempt things. But in reality, it just makes me weak. It gives me an “out” for my failure or for my lack of following through because at the end of the day I can say, “Well, I tried.”

I read a great blog by Michael Hyatt that talked about this very thing. His point was there is no need for trying. Make up your mind to do it or don’t do it. But stop saying you will try. Because try hard enough and you will do it. Eliminate that gray space, get rid of the negative energy around the word “try” and just go do it.

Below are a few takeaway points that I’ve decided to incorporate into my life.

  1. Eliminate the word “try” from your vocabulary. It is a worthless word that accomplishes nothing. It only makes you feel better when you fail.
  2. Decide either to do or not do. If you don’t want to do something fine. Don’t do it. But don’t pretend that trying is the same as doing. They are two completely different postures.
  3. Commit 100 percent to the outcome you want. Like the project manager in Apollo 13 said, “Failure is not an option.” Play full out. Go for the win. Don’t settle for merely trying.

 

Will you take on this challenge with me?

(Yes or No) <—- notice…”I’ll try” is not an option

Leave a Reply

