Write it in Ink

I feel great about this year. Do you?

You should. As James Allen said in his profound, yet simply crafted book, As A Man Thinketh,

“The outer conditions of a person’s life will always be found to be harmoniously related to his inner state…

Men do not attract that which they want, but that which they are.”

And who you are starts with your thoughts. Springing from this idea, I have decided to do some things differently this year. Instead of letting spontaneity completely rule the events of this year, I purchased this great calendar and nailed it to my wall:

I’ve been procrastinating with actually using the thing. Why? Because when we put our plans on paper (or on a huge wall calendar) there is some sense of accountability and responsibility that goes along with it. It’s much easier to brush aside the things that you “said” you were going to do and much harder to walk past it everyday and still do nothing about it. I realized this truth this morning. So, I decided that I would write some events on my calendar.

My first thought was to grab the pencil. That way, if I don’t meet my goals or I fail to accomplish these milestones, I can simply erase it and pretend it was never there. Are you kidding me?? The thoughts that go through our head. I answered that thought with No, you have to use not only a pen, but a permanent Sharpie marker. And that’s what I did. I wrote my goals and the things I wanted to accomplish in 2012 in bold, black, permanent ink. There will be no erasing, there will be no pretending I didn’t say it. It’s there and its not going away.

What are the things that you need to write down in bold black ink this year? I challenge you to do as I did:
1. Think about what you want to accomplish
2. Write it down (somewhere you will see it everyday)
3. Leave the pencil alone and USE THE INK!!
Make this part of your story, the year of 2012, the most productive, happiest year so far!
– k
Leave a Reply

