2 Things We Learn from Anne Frank

Hkg6746363

If you asked me if I like movies, I’d probably nod and answer, “Yea. I like independent films and documentaries.” It’s no surprise, really, if you know me at all. I love the dark parts of life, the human parts of life, the melodrama and the underlying hope that accompanies real life stories. That’s why my blog is named what it’s named.

I can sit for hours watching documentaries on various topics and subjects – it doesn’t really matter what they are about. I become engaged with the “real” life that’s being documented on the screen in front of me. I don’t have to suspend disbelief or pretend that the world of the movie is some sci-fi 3014 movie with aliens and robots. No, the people and the stories are REAL.

Tonight I watched Anne Frank Remembered. While I’ve known of Anne Frank’s story since grade school, seeing this documentary really opened my eyes to some truths that are just as relevant today as they were to Anne back then. The beautiful thing about Anne Frank’s story and legacy is the fact that while she was only 15 years old, her life was meant for something greater. Here we are 70 years later and we are still learning from her words.

2 Things that really stuck with me after watching this movie:

1. We remember her because she wrote. There are countless people who have lived and died throughout the ages with priceless wisdom and truth, but they never wrote it down. The written word is a gift, given to us so that we may leave a legacy for future generations.

2. We relate to her because she was real. Her diary was personal, it was free, unedited and without judgment. After keeping her diary for a couple years, she had aspirations of seeing it in print, with her name as author on the spine. She went back through the text with judging eyes, knowing that the world would cast their opinions on her writings. I’m thankful that we have the raw, unedited version. The power of her words are in her vulnerability.

May we all recognize a little piece of Anne in ourselves as we seek to create meaningful art with such truth, vulnerability and unedited resolve. While our world is much different now and our circumstances are nothing to be compared, we can all learn from the 15 year old girl who sought to make a difference in the world through the power of her words.

Take the advice: Write and Write Real.

– Kaci

Leave a Reply

