Red Letter Words

photo-6

Red Letter Words

Red Letter Words

A recent visit to a frame shop yielded a life lesson. Upon entering, I was greeted by a young man asking how he could help.  I explained what I needed and he agreed to take care of it.  Noticing a large tattoo on his left arm I asked him if it had significant meaning.  He replied- “It’s the date I decided to get sober.”

You’re kidding?  This is a 25 year old who looks like he just stepped out of a Men’s Fitness magazine. I asked him about his childhood, his reply – “I have great parents.”  As we talked, he showed me scares from self-inflicted burns on his arms.  I asked, “What made you decide to get help? Was it intervention, an accident or some other encounter?” He said, “No, I knew I was killing myself and I needed help”.

He followed that by saying, “I’m an alcoholic and I’ve been sober 2 years.” The red letter words on his tattoo reads: There must be some kind of way out of here said the joker to the thief

Congratulations to this young man for finding his way out. May his will to keep searching, keep fighting, and keep thriving inspire us all to live fuller, more healthy lives.

You can find Gabe at European Mat Design in Baton Rouge LA.

photo-5

Gabe

One thought on “Red Letter Words

  1. This is so inspiring! Thank you so much for sharing this! I love tattoos with such a significant meaning. My first English assignment in college was an essay arguing that tattoos are a form of art which tell a story, and this is exactly what I meant by that!

Leave a Reply

