My Brother, Lenny

Yikes! It’s been a while, huh? So much so that the wordpress blogging framework is different since the last time I logged in. Guess I should update this more often. No promises to be more more frequent, but I do acknowledge my lack of online presence.

I’ll start with an update.

This past weekend, I had the opportunity to host my brother, Lenny, his wife, Julie and their daughter, Olivia, in LA as they made the 4 hour plane ride from the other La (Louisiana). I have to be honest and say that I wasn’t sure how it would go – I haven’t always been close to my brother, who is in fact my half-brother (we share the same dad), but his interest and excitement in visiting SoCal was enough for me to open my home with welcoming arms. I had the expectation that we would do the touristy-LA stuff, hang out a bit and they would be on their way, but something special happened while they were in town.

Without a whole lifetime of backstory, my brother, Lenny and my sister, Tiffany all have the same father (who passed away about 3.5 years ago). While my sister and I have been close through the years, I spent most of my life only knowing my brother from a distance. I can say after this weekend, I’m very sorry that I missed so many years without him.

As a girl who spent many years without the attention of her biological father, I just want to take a moment and tell the world how proud I am of Lenny. Without an example of what a father should be to his little girl, Lenny is the most loving, determined, gracious, caring, patient, funny, and attentive father to his daughter, Olivia. When he didn’t think I was watching, I saw how he looked at Olivia with a glisten in his eye, I saw how he put his arm around her shoulders and comforted her in her distress, I saw how excited he was to see her eyes light up at Disneyland and how dedicated he was to making sure his little girl had the time of her life. I noticed how he stroked her hair and complimented her new haircut and how he loved his wife and made sure to nurture her needs. I saw how he watched for strangers and wore his coat of protection for them, how he made sure they were safe and always locked the door behind him. I paid attention to his questions and his concern for their wellbeing and comfort and how he never hesitated to offer his hand and assistance when they needed it. I noticed how he made Olivia’s pallet on the floor each night and how he smiled when they were happy and how he joked just to make them laugh. He doesn’t know how proud I am of him, to see the reflections of a father who is present, a dad who is active and alive, a protector who loves his Queen and his Princess.

They claimed to have had the best vacation EVER, but it was me who was blessed by their presence, who was touched by their love, who was encouraged by the man my brother has become. While I’m sure he comes with his fair share of faults (as do we ALL), I stand today thanking God for what a wonderful man he is.

Thank you Lenny for your example, for your love and for your willingness to be a part of my life. I hope we spend many more times together. You are an exceptional husband, father, son, and to me, most importantly, Brother. Love you.

– Kaci

34photo

 

photo

 

P.S. – While this post was about my brother, Lenny, I have to say Thank You to Julie for her influence, love, patience and dedication to helping shape my brother into the man he is today. Like they say, behind every great man is an even greater woman 🙂

One thought on “My Brother, Lenny

  1. swimming pools …movie stars!!! (from Bev Hllbillies which may have been before your time) I share Lenny and family’s enthusiasm about vacationing in SoCal!!

Leave a Reply

