2014 – It’s all about Intentional Living!

If you’ve read this blog for any length of time, you know that I LOVE starting new things, New Year’s included. Finishing is another topic.

Actually, it’s a topic that I’m going to talk about now.

I have a birthday next month and while I’m only turning 20 3-0, I feel like it’s a pivotal point in my life. Over the last year, C and I have gone through lots of changes: we sold our house, moved to a new city, C changed jobs, we got new cars, met new friends, traveled to new places, and have been gluten-free almost a year. Whew, that’s a lot. They were all great changes and of course, I LOVED them because they were all new and shiny.

Here’s the thing that I’m learning about life tho…. the new, bright and shiny  is wonderful, but we miss out on the reallllly great stuff when we fail to finish. There’s something magical that happens in what Michael Hyatt calls the “messy middle.” While I’ve never really been one to set goals, I’m changing that. I realize after taking Michael Hyatt’s 5 Days to Your Best Year Ever, that happiness comes from progress and when we have no goals, we have no progress. Duh moment!

I won’t bore you with my 2014 ambitions, but I will say that I feel more prepared with my goals, motivations, and action plans than I ever have before. My theme for 2014 is INTENTIONAL LIVING – deciding each day to be deliberate in my actions and deciding a.) Are my actions moving me closer to my desired results? or b.) Are my actions moving me away from my desired results? If I find the latter is true, I must make a choice to change. I’m in for real this time. Are you?

Here’s to a great 2014 for everyone!

PS – make your goals SMART (Specific, Measurable, Actionable, Realistic, &  Time-Bound) and commit to following through. I’m excited to see how it feels on the other side when I can say “I did it!” Join me!!

Leave a Reply

